North Dakota Auto Insurance
Whether you're a North Dakotan by birth or a recent transplant, you have likely noticed right away that the long rural roads create a stark contrast to congested city streets, as do North Dakota driving laws. Since North Dakota has its own unique landscape and traffic concerns, drivers should take an equally unique approach in determining the appropriate auto insurance in North Dakota. To learn how to obtain cheap auto insurance, consider the following most important information.
Car Insurance Requirements in North Dakota
State car insurance laws require that all drivers carry the following North Dakota minimum auto insurance requirements:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $25,000/$50,000 underinsured motorist
- $150 per week/$30,000 maximum basic personal injury protection
Is North Dakota a No-Fault State?
North Dakota is one of only a dozen states that has a no-fault system in place when assigning financial responsibility for the consequences of a car accident. In this no-fault state, the driver's own car insurance policy covers the injuries of anyone covered under the policy in the event of an accident.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In North Dakota:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in North Dakota
One of the perks of living in North Dakota is the relatively cheaper auto insurance rates. Drivers in this state can expect to pay approximately $1,230 per year, which is 13.8 percent less than the national average. Like most states, North Dakota charges the highest rates for teenage drivers, who have an average yearly premium cost of $6,196.82. However, by the time drivers reach their 20s, rates drop dramatically, often falling in the $1,000 to $2,000 range.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers, and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in North Dakota can be somewhat expensive, beginning the range with an average yearly premium cost of $6,196.82 and ending with $4,542.02. As this range suggests, the cost drops dramatically each year, stabilizing once the driver reaches his or her mid-twenties.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in North Dakota;Incurring student loan debt can be enough of a financial burden for drivers in this age range, but fortunately, once a driver enters their twenties, they can expect to pay an average yearly premium of $1,705.23.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in North Dakota;Once you reach your late 20s in North Dakota, you can expect to pay an average annual premium of around $1,500. This number gradually declines as you age, reaching its lowest average rate in your 50s at $1,052.63.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in North Dakota;Car insurance rates weigh in at an average yearly premium of $1,052.63 for a driver in their 50s, rising only slightly to $1,059.84 when drivers reach their 60s. It is only once a driver reaches his or her 70s that this number begins to increase meaningfully, with an average yearly premium of $1,268.61.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in North Dakota;Most auto insurance companies in North Dakota offer discounts for veterans and members of the armed services. Since these offers vary significantly, ask an agent directly about this discount opportunity.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Chevrolet||Male - 51% | Female - 49%||Fargo|
|25 - 54||Chevrolet||Male - 53% | Female - 47%||Fargo|
|55 - 64||Chevrolet||Male - 45% | Female - 55%||Fargo|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 44% | Female - 56%||Grand Forks|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Traffic Violations and Fines in North Dakota
Speeding Ticket Cost in North Dakota
According to North Dakota law, drivers are fined $5 for each mile they drive over the speed limit on a highway with a speed limit above 65 mph. For example, the speeding ticket fine for going 5 miles over the speed limit is $25. Reckless driving in North Dakota may come with additional penalties and is up to the discretion of the law enforcement officer.
Driving While High Laws in North Dakota
North Dakota law treats driving while high on a controlled substance exactly as it would driving while drunk. The law specifically states that a person may not operate a motor vehicle if he or she is under the influence of marijuana to the extent that it renders the person incapabale of driving safely.
Driving Without Car Insurance in North Dakota
Drivers who operate a vehicle without proof of insurance are subject to Class B Misdemeanor penalties in North Dakota, which include a $5,000 fine, jail time for 30 days, and license suspension for an indefinite period of time.
Texting and Driving in North Dakota
Effective in August of 2017, North Dakota law states that distracted driving refers to any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate a vehicle, including cell phone use while driving and eating while driving. Drivers found guilty of this offense can be given a $100 citation.
<twitter>Trying to get rid of loose change? Make sure to avoid putting your pennies in an automatic parking ticket machine in North Dakota or you could be prosecuted.</twitter>
North Dakota Car Accidents
According to car accident statistics from a 2017 report from the North Dakota Department of Transportation, there are more than 15,000 vehicle crashes in North Dakota each year resulting in fatalities, injuries, and property damage. Motor vehicle car accidents in North Dakota are the leading cause of injury-related death in the state.
Reasons for Car Accidents in North Dakota
Of the 116 fatalities from car accidents in 2017, about 55 percent of those involved were not wearing their seat belt, 47 percent were alcohol-related, and 24 percent were speed-related.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in North Dakota
Of the motor vehicle fatalities 78 percent were in a passenger vehicle, 11 percent were motorcyclists, 4 percent were pedestrians, 3 percent were individuals on all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), and other miscellaneous vehicle types, 2 percent were bicyclists, and 3 percent involved a motor vehicle and a train.
Car Accidents in North Dakota
In 2017, 116 people lost their lives in motor vehicle accidents in North Dakota. Of this 116, individuals who died ranged in age from 3 to 90. The majority of people involved (84 percent) were North Dakota residents.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny, and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in North Dakota
- Owning and operating a "chop shop"—a business that disassembles stolen cars to sell the parts—is illegal in North Dakota, but so is buying from one.
Looking for Auto insurance in North Dakota? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In North Dakota:</zipcode>